What Child Is This?

Sunday, 30 December 2018

After three days they found him in the temple, sitting among the teachers, listening to them and asking them questions (Luke 2:46)

On Monday...

Song Of Bethlehem

Sunday, 23 December 2018

And Mary said, "My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour (Luke 1:46-47)

There’s an episode of The Simpson’s where...

People Of Bethlehem

Sunday, 16 December 2018

for I tell you, God is able from these stones to raise up children to Abraham. (Luke 3:8)

Every now and then I’ve picked up a hitch-hiker,...

The Road To Bethlehem

Sunday, 9 December 2018

"The voice of one crying out in the wilderness: 'Prepare the way of the Lord, make his paths straight.”  (Luke 3:4)

One thing I had never...

Departing For Bethlehem

Sunday, 2 December 2018

The days are surely coming, says the LORD, when I will fulfil the promise I made to the house of Israel and the house of Judah. (Jeremiah 33:14)

Walking In The Reign

Sunday, 25 November 2018

Jesus answered, "My kingdom is not from this world (John 18:36)

For some years, while Christopher was growing up, we had family membership...

The Day Peace Broke Out

Sunday, 11 November 2018

But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be children of your Father in heaven.  (Matthew 5:44-45)

Not All The Goats In The World

Sunday, 4 November 2018

he entered once for all into the Holy Place, not with the blood of goats and calves, but with his own blood (Hebrews 9:12)

One of the things...

Feeding The Hungry

Saturday, 13 October 2018

And all ate and were satisfied and the disciples took up twelve basketfuls of broken pieces of fish and bread (Mark 6:43)

When my mother goes...

Tenant Farmers

Sunday, 7 October 2018

The earth is the Lord’s, and everything in it (Psalm 24:1)

The first house I remember living in was 9 Cadham Crescent in Glenrothes. We moved...

Ushering The Way

Sunday, 30 September 2018

"Teacher, we saw someone casting out demons in your name, and we tried to stop him, because he was not following us." (Mark 9:38)

My first...

The Greasy Pole

Sunday, 23 September 2018

He sat down, called the twelve, and said to them, "Whoever wants to be first must be last of all and servant of all." (Mark 9:35)

I’ve been...

Say It With Love

Sunday, 16 September 2018

From the same mouth come blessing and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this ought not to be so. (James 3:10)

In the early days of cinema...

Seeking The Way

Sunday, 9 September 2018

Now eagerly desire the greater gifts. And yet I will show you the most excellent way. (1Corinthians 12:31)

A while back I got myself a SatNav...

Sayers And Doers

Sunday, 2 September 2018

But be doers of the word, and not merely hearers who deceive themselves. (James 1:22)

Apparently it was the author Kurt Vonnegut who first...

Hard Words

Sunday, 26 August 2018

By the rivers of Babylon we sat and wept when we remembered Zion." (Psalm 137:1)

When I was training to be a Reader, I studied the Psalms....

Got An Ology

Sunday, 19 August 2018

Be careful then how you live, not as unwise people but as wise (Ephesians 5:15)

Many years ago the actress Maureen Lipmann did a sequence...

Be Kind

Sunday, 12 August 2018

be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ has forgiven you. (Ephesians 4:32)



I think I indicated...

Still Hungry

Sunday, 5 August 2018

Jesus said to them, "I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never be hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty. (John 6:35)

Come One, Come All

Sunday, 22 July 2018

When they got out of the boat, people at once recognised him, and rushed about that whole region and began to bring the sick on mats to wherever they...

Things You Can't Kill

Sunday, 15 July 2018

But when Herod heard of it, he said, "John, whom I beheaded, has been raised." (Mark 6:16)



Since I was about seven, when I was...

Ordinary People

Sunday, 8 July 2018

He ordered them to take nothing for their journey except a staff; no bread, no bag, no money in their belts; but to wear sandals and not to put on two...

Needs Known And Unknown

Sunday, 1 July 2018

Immediately aware that power had gone forth from him, Jesus turned about in the crowd and said, "Who touched my clothes?" (Mark 5:30)

Before...

When All Around Is Madness

Sunday, 24 June 2018

A great windstorm arose, and the waves beat into the boat, so that the boat was already being swamped. But he was in the stern, asleep on the cushion (Mark...

Tiny Seeds

Sunday, 17 June 2018

It is like a mustard seed, which, when sown upon the ground, is the smallest of all the seeds on earth (Mark 4:31)

It rained yesterday. For...

A House Divided

Sunday, 10 June 2018

And if a house is divided against itself, that house will not be able to stand (Mark 3:25)

There is said to be a street in he United States...

Time To Be Human

Sunday, 3 June 2018

Then he said to them, "The sabbath was made for humankind, and not humankind for the sabbath (Mark 2:27)



Lazy day, Sunday afternoon

On Our Lips

Sunday, 27 May 2018

"Woe is me! I am lost, for I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips  (Isaiah 6:5)

It’s that time in the service...

Living Spirit

Sunday, 20 May 2018

Even upon my slaves, both men and women, in those days I will pour out my Spirit; and they shall prophesy. (Acts 2:18)

I’m not a Royalist...

Not Of This World

Sunday, 13 May 2018

They do not belong to the world, just as I do not belong to the world. (John 17:15)

In 1990 theVoyager 1 spacecraft had just passed the planet...

You Had One Job

Sunday, 6 May 2018

"This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.” (John 15:12)

When I go shopping, I take a shopping list. It means...

The Fruit Of The Vine

Sunday, 29 April 2018

Those who abide in me and I in them bear much fruit (John 15:5)

We’ve often holidayed in France. Sometimes we’ve flown, but most times we’ve...

Precious Lambs

Sunday, 22 April 2018

"I am the good shepherd” (John 10:11)

I’ve lived in this part of the world for more than thirty years, but I started out as a city boy. I...

Look And See!

Sunday, 15 April 2018

Look at my hands and my feet; see that it is I myself. Touch me and see (Luke 24:39)

I am partially colour-blind. My wife says that explains...

Blessing And Doubt

Sunday, 8 April 2018

Then he said to Thomas, "Put your finger here and see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it in my side (John 20:27)

I grew up in Coventry....

One More Time To Live

Sunday, 1 April 2018

and that he was raised on the third day in accordance with the scriptures, and that he appeared to Cephas, then to the twelve (1 Corinthians 15:4-5)

Gateway Of The Kingdom

Sunday, 25 March 2018

"Do not be afraid, daughter of Zion. Look, your king is coming, sitting on a donkey's colt!" (John 12:15)

“He’s coming! He’s coming!” The...

Your Humble Servant

Sunday, 18 March 2018

So also Christ did not glorify himself in becoming a high priest (Hebrews 5:5)

A prince can mak a belted knight, 

A marquis, duke,...

Hiding In The Dark

Sunday, 11 March 2018

For all who do evil hate the light and do not come to the light, so that their deeds may not be exposed. (John 3:20)

The story goes of a wife...

Jesus And The Losers

Sunday, 25 February 2018

Then he began to teach them that the Son of Man must undergo great suffering, and be rejected by the elders, the chief priests, and the scribes, and...

The Bow In The Skies

Sunday, 18 February 2018

I have set my bow in the clouds, and it shall be a sign of the covenant between me and the earth (Genesis 9:13)



“Who built the...

Unveiling The Light

Sunday, 11 February 2018

For it is the God who said, "Let light shine out of darkness," who has shone in our hearts (2 Corinthians 4:6)

A married couple were having...

Quiet Time

Sunday, 4 February 2018

In the morning, while it was still very dark, he got up and went out to a deserted place, and there he prayed. (Mark 1:36)

For the last couple...

Fisher Folk

Sunday, 21 January 2018

And Jesus said to them, "Follow me and I will make you fish for people." And immediately they left their nets and followed him (Mark 1:17-18)

Greater Wonders

Sunday, 14 January 2018

"Do you believe because I told you that I saw you under the fig tree? You will see greater things than these." (John 1:50)

Do you remember...

Ears Open!

Sunday, 7 January 2018

The voice of the LORD is powerful; the voice of the LORD is full of majesty. (Psalm 29:4)

One of the things that has plagued me over the years...